The Winners of the 2018 IS Awards

31 October 2018

ISCA: During a resoundingly successful evening of celebration in Sydney last week, the winners of the 2018 IS Awards were announced.

Four of the awards were adjudicated by a panel of five highly esteemed judges, and the Outstanding Achievement awards were based on the projects which achieved the highest IS Score in the previous 12 months.


The event was hosted by Logie-Award winning comedian Dilruk Jayasinha, and catered by Doltone House Hyde Park. To start off the evening, ISCA presented IS Rating certificates to:


The IS Organisational Leadership Award was presented by John Holland. The three finalists for this award were:

The winner of the 2018 Organisational Leadership award was Main Roads WA. In collecting the award, Leo Coci congratulated his team for their hard-work, perseverance and great achievements this year. This is the second time Main Roads WA have won this award, having previously won it in 2014. Other previous winners include Aurecon, Edge Environment, and Level Crossing Removal Authority.


The IS Individual Leadership Award was presented by Lendlease. The three finalists for this award were:

The winner of this award was Rebecca Miller. Infrastructure resilience expert Rebecca acknowledged AECOM in the acceptance of her award. In the past 12 months, Rebecca has been pivotal in the development of the resilience category of the ISv2.0 rating scheme, and has worked on Paramatta Light Rail, Sydney Metro and Parkes Water Treatment and Sewage Treatment Plants. Rebecca has been involved with ISCA since the very beginning, and has shown leadership across the sector.

Previous winners of this award include Katrina O'Mara (formally of AECOM), Scott Losee (Losee Consulting), Glenn Hedges (EIC Activities) and Nicole Neal (Cardno).


The IS Emerging Young Leader Award was presented by McConnell Dowell. This was the first time this award has been presented, and celebrates the person aged 30 years or younger best demonstrating leadership in infrastructure sustainability.

The three finalists for this award were:

The winner was Laura Pritchard, Sydney Metro's sustainability officer. In her acceptance speech Laura acknowledged the amazing mentoring from Jo Haggerty and the team at Sydney Metro, and recognised the importance of female leaders as role models and mentors for the next generation.

Laura was nominated for her work in streamlining the application of the ISCA rating tool to Sydney Metro City & Southwest project and because she goes above and beyond in driving innovation including partnership with Social Traders, research into low carbon concrete and research into modern slavery.


The IS Innovation and Impact Award was re-imagined this year, having previously been the IS Impact Award. This award now celebrates the project which has best implemented an innovation. With 13 submissions, this award saw the greatest uptake from the community.

The three finalists for this award were:

The winner of this award was the Level Crossing Removal Authority. Training for The Future (TFTF) is an innovative Victorian Government skills and industry development program creating a sustainable and inclusive talent and supply chain pipeline for major rail infrastructure projects in Victoria. Capitalising on the infrastructure boom to maximise impact for prosperity, people and planet, the program was created in response to the impending labour requirements and opportunity for economic inclusion of our most disadvantaged communities.


The IS Outstanding Achievement Award was split in two this year, as demanded by our members. The first of these awards was the Design Award. The three projects which achieved the highest Design score this year were:

The winner was Metro Tunnel Early Works. The project achieved a Leading IS Design Rating, and demonstrated great sustainable outcomes with a predicted energy reduction of 39%, showed a creative approach to heritage assessment and interpretation, and demonstrated a forward thinking supply chain engagement strategy.

The $324 million Early Works Package for the Metro Tunnel Project is the first major expansion of Melbourne's underground rail network since the City Loop was constructed 30 years ago.


The Outstanding Achievement Award (As Built) celebrates the completed project which achieved the highest IS Rating score in the past 12 months.

The three projects which achieved the highest As Built score this year were:

The winner was Level Crossing Removal Project: Bayswater Alliance. The project achieved a Leading IS As Built Rating. Highlights included a 44% reduction in energy use, a comprehensive approach to climate change risk and adaptation measures and the successful implementation of indigenous heritage through the collaboration of three local groups into a beautiful mural.

The Bayswater level crossing removal project involved the construction of a brand new Bayswater station and the removal of two dangerous and congested level crossings at Mountain Highway and Scoresby Road.

This project won the outstanding achievement award in 2016, with its leading design score. Other previous winners include the Gold Coast Light Rail, Sydney Metro Northwest, and Northlink WA, Southern Section.


A congratulations is in order to all of the 2018 IS winners, finalists, and submissions.




Source:  ISCA -

Contact:  N/A

External Links:  N/A

Recent news by:  ISCA