Long term flood mitigation strategy released for Hawkesbury Nepean Valley

25 May 2017

NSW Government: NSW Treasurer and Member for Hawkesbury Dominic Perrottet and Minister for Western Sydney Stuart Ayres today released the long term plan to mitigate flood risk for the Hawkesbury-Nepean Valley.

Mr Perrottet said recent major floods in northern NSW and Queensland demonstrate the dangers and devastation that flooding can cause.

“The Hawkesbury-Nepean Valley is considered to have the highest single flood exposure in NSW, if not Australia and today the NSW Government has released a comprehensive longterm, regional framework to manage flood risk,” Mr Perrottet said.

“This is a massive win for the local community and shows that the Government is fully committed to protecting the families and businesses of the Hawkesbury.”

Minister for Western Sydney Stuart Ayres said safeguarding life and property across the the Hawkesbury-Nepean Valley – from Bents Basin near Wallacia to Brooklyn Bridge is a key priority for the NSW Government, requiring a multi pronged approach.

“While we proceed with detailed concept designs to raise the wall of Sydney’s Warragamba Dam, we need to improve community flood risk awareness across the board and have every arm of Government in coordination to reduce flood risk,” Minister Ayres said.

“The NSW Government has allocated $58 million to the first stage of the plan to improve awareness through evacuation signage, improving flood forecasting and integrating flood risk management in our regional planning.

 “While work continues to investigate raising the dam wall by around 14 metres said more than four years of detailed research, modelling and analysis underpinned the strategy.

“WaterNSW has also begun the first steps in a comprehensive environmental assessment process that will include robust community and stakeholder consultation.”

Resilient Valley, Resilient Communities - the Hawkesbury-Nepean Valley Flood Risk Management Strategy is available to view www.insw.com/expert-advice/hawkesbury-nepeanflood-risk-management-strategy 




Source:  NSW Government - www.infrastructure.nsw.gov.au

Contact:  Minister Ayres I Anna Hindson I 0437 094 873 Minister Perrottet I Keiran Byrne I 0427 163 079

 External Links:  N/A

Recent news by:  NSW Government